Posted by: quilnib | June 11, 2008

And the summer begins

I’m halfway through my week long training for my summer long job. I can’t believe how much more boring the training is the second time around. My birthday came and went this last Monday and I received a ton more birthday wishes than I expected, which was a nice surprise. I’m happy to report that the staff this year seems very promising, partially because most of the staff members are returning from previous years and also because no one seems to be too reserved to be able to get along with the students. It should be a good summer.

I am already suffering from the lack of sleep we all experience when we take the job of being a summer counselor for Upward Bound. Three hours of sleep the night before moving in, then another three that night and thankfully about five each of the last two nights. Naps will be crucial this summer, which is why I have two hammocks hanging in my room this summer and they are both necessary. One of them is only meant for one person, you can get two if you really want, but the other is designed for 3+ people and has a weight capacity of 775+lbs. I’m pretty set for napping devices.

I got to see a couple of old friends of mine I haven’t seen in a long time.  I saw one of them when I was moving into my summer dorm, and I talked the ear off of another one a couple days later after discussing about a friends obsession with World of Warcraft.

There was something else I was going to write about, but I don’t remember what it was now because I had to leave for several hours while I was writing this. I had to leave because of all the flooding here. A bunch of the staff went downtown to help fill sand bags. We were there for several hours shoveling sand into bags, tying them off and stacking them on pallets only to do more shoveling because the next load of sand would arrive. I was surprised, not only by the number of people there volunteering, but also by how flooded some of the streets were that we drove over. I guess that was the exiting part of the day and it also helped some of the staff to bond even more than we already were. I personally love storms and rain. When I visited Japan I was disappointed when a typhoon headed strait for the city I was staying in and forecasted to drop 14-inches of rain in the period of an hour and a half suddenly changed directions when it got to the coast and left us with a measly three inches. They are expecting much more rain here though, so it should be interesting to see what happens.

I think I just remembered something else I wanted to talk about. I’ve started to design t-shirts on a website called Zazzle. I only have a couple on there so far and they aren’t the most amazing things you’ve ever seen, but I like them. I especially like the shirt I made for facebook stalkers. I’ve got several ideas ranging from sippy cups to starwars (I can’t give too much detail because then someone could steal my ideas). I just need the time and dedication to finish them. I am almost done with the sippy cup shirt though and I think a lot of people will really like it. Here is the name/link to my page of stuff http://www.zazzle.com/quilnib* (don’t forget to check the backs of the facebook and “shut up” shirts)

Leave a Reply

Categories

